Young Munster did not let Fintan Coleman’s first half sending-off stop them from running Terenure College desperately close in an enthralling Energia Bateman Cup final at Lakelands Park.

Terenure triumphed 22-15 to retain the coveted title, becoming the first back-to-back Bateman Cup winners since Cork Constitution in 2017, as Jordan Coghlan (52 minutes) and Aran Egan (59) struck for decisive tries.

Former Cookie Conor Phillips crossed in the fourth minute to put Sean Skehan’s men on course for a 10-8 half-time lead. Sean Rigney drove over from a maul for Young Munster.

Despite number 8 Coleman’s 35th-minute dismissal for a high tackle, Munsters remained right in the hunt and took the lead when Ireland Under-20 star Ruadhan Quinn squeezed in beside the posts.

However, Terenure finished the third quarter strongly, and having held up Kegan Christian-Goss late on, their captain Harrison Brewer gave the honour to departing players Conall Boomer and Caolan Dooley to lift the trophy at the post-match presentation.

It was Bateman Cup final heartbreak for Munsters for the second time in three seasons, albeit that this was a much closer match than their 2022 defeat to Lansdowne. Having also lost the 1938 decider, they are still waiting to add to their first win from back in 1928.

Terenure College: Aran Egan; Adam La Grue, Colm de Buitléar, Peter Sylvester, Conor Phillips; Callum Smith, Alan Bennie; Campbell Classon, Levi Vaughan, Adam Tuite, Harrison Brewer (capt), Matthew Caffrey, Adam Melia, Jim White, Jordan Coghlan

Replacements: Tom Stewart, Conan O’Donnell, Conor McCormack, Mike Murphy, Tom Coghlan, Stephen O’Neill, Caolan Dooley, Craig Adams

Young Munster: Aidan Shortall; Shay McCarthy, Harry Fleming, Kegan Christian-Goss, Oisin Pepper; Shane O’Leary, Jack Lyons; David Begley, Stephen McLoughlin, Keynan Knox, Tom Goggin, Sean Rigney, Alan Kennedy (capt), Ruadhan Quinn, Fintan Coleman

Replacements: Chris Moore, Harrison Allan, Conor Bartley, John Foley, Donnchadh O’Callaghan, Cian Casey, James O’Brien, James Horrigan

Referee: Jonny Erskine (IRFU)

Reproduced from RTE Website