Yousif Ajina of Terenure College scores a second half try. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile
Yousif Ajina of Terenure College scores a second half try

The Terenure College JCT came through a tough test from Roscrea to become the first Leinster Junior Cup semi-finalists at Energia Park on Monday past. There was fantstic commitment to keeping the ball in hand in very windy conditions, Our lads setting the tone through Matthew Somerville and Harvey O’Leary, wing Simon Horgan finishing in the left corner and O’Leary converting from the touchline on 13 minutes.

The lads from Cistercian College, Roscrea looked somewhat out of sorts with their lineout failing to function and unable to move forward without the ball. When they did get it, their primary weapons started to come to the fore, in the form of No 8 Max Flynn crashing over from a five-metre scrum for 7-5 in the 25th minute. With this, Roscrea had a reinvigorated self confidence and full-back Charlie O’Sullivan dotted down for the lead in the 27th minute. The third try arrived from centre Calum Browne who scored for 15-7 at the break.

Our Terenure lads began the second half as they had in the first, with their driving game gaining ground quickly to secure a lineout which flanker Carlos Montero turned into five points on the 34th minute. The momentum once again switched back to our Junior Cup Team with No 8 Ben Nolan and centre Yousif Ajina causing problems.

They twice spilled the ball with the line in sight before Ajina blasted through for the try, O’Leary converting for 19-15 in the 50th minute. From there ‘Nure were on the back foot, but they defended with aggression and held on.

There was admirable commitment to keeping the ball in hand in tough blustery conditions, and the lads kept their composure to see out the match as 19-15 winners!

NEXT STOP Newbridge in the semi finals…..

TERENURE COLLEGE – T Costello; D Martin (E Walsh 45), Y Ajina, H O’Leary, S Horgan; H Ennis (R King 45), P Swords; O Storey, M Egan (M Murphy 52), J Delaney (C O’Brien 45); C Redmond-Murray, M Somerville (capt); O Flanagan (E Geraghty h-t), C Montero, B Nolan.

CISTERCIAN COLLEGE, ROSCREA – C O’Sullivan; A Dunne, C Browne, J Conroy, G Fitzgerald (capt); F Fleetwood, S Finlay; C Kennedy, R Lydon, R Óg Doody; R Roe, R Glynn; M O’Sullivan (C Schofield 47, C Frawley 52), R Whelan, M Flynn (B Cleare 58).